Watermelonade

We’re potty training! My kid proved his readiness by just refusing to pee on day one. Not in the potty, not on the floor. He went five hours. It was clear I needed to push liquid to move the learning along, but there was a problem. We mostly give water because, you know, that’s what they tell you to do now a days, and juice isn’t something we typically keep in the house. I’m not pretending we’ve got perfect nutrition. In fact, the main reason we don’t keep juice around is because drinking it would really cut into my diet soda and coffee time. As a result, we’ve been pretty good at the the no juice thing…so good, that my kid won’t drink it. He won’t drink milk either, just water. So pushing liquid was pretty much just me offering water, which he mostly rejected.

I had the brilliant idea – what if mommy made an extra special yummy juice? This is less a recipe than an experiment determined by ingredients in my fridge. It started out as a lemonade, but I only had 3 lemons. I also had 3 limes, so lemon/limeade? Why not. I had entirely forgotten about half a watermelon in my fruit drawer that was still good.

  My kid gobbled up a few pieces of the watermelon I had cut up, so I cubed the rest of it. I juiced the lemons/limes and forced the juice through a sieve into the blender.

 Then I threw in a bunch of watermelon, poured in enough cold water to mostly cover it, and blended.

 I  added half a cup of sugar and blended more. Then I poured it all through the sieve again into this glass carafe that makes me feel like I’m playing restaurant (fancy!).

 I topped it off with  carbonated water to give it a little fizz…

 And a few shakes of salt to bring out the sweet. (Also, if the salt made my kid thirsty, he’d drink more, right?)

End result: my kid hated it!

But I liked it. So serve this at some fancy BBQ. Maybe put some liquor in it? Don’t tell anyone this drink was born out of potty training desperation.

 And the potty training, it’s going ok.

Ingredients

  • 3 lemons
  • 3 limes
  • ¼ watermelon cubed
  • ½ cup of sugar
  • cold water
  • carbonated water
  • pinch of salt

Tools

  • Citrus juicer
  • Sieve
  • Blender

Juice lemons and limes. Pour juice through a sieve into the blender. Add watermelon and enough water to blend. (The amount of water needed will depend on the quality of your blender.) Blend to a puree. Add sugar to taste, and blend again. Pour juice through the sieve into a pitcher. Add carbonated water to taste. Shake in salt, and stir. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Watermelonade

Leave a Reply

